An Ocean of Papers to Grade


January has brought a whole lot of things to deal with in my newfound teacher’s life. I had to contend with parents in evenings of wits and unpleasant truths. On the overall, the track record is rather excellent, I daresay. A lot of parents told me that they approved the content of my lessons. Some confessed that I have reconciled their children with English. I felt quite good when I heard this because somewhat this is all what I am about.

I shouldn’t say this because the French school system is all about performances especially measurable ones, but I don’t really care so much about the marks than I do care about students enjoying English during my classes. In the future, whatever they choose to do, they will be confronted with the necessity to speak English. I don’t want them to be afraid of speaking.

Right now, due to the academic calendar, I am finding myself confronted with an ocean of papers to grade: they seem to arrive faster than I can correct them.  I produce a few tests. Thereafter, I have to deal with 150 papers to grade before I know it. It feels like being a modern day Sisyphus!

I have almost given up on preparing my exams during school time… It seems that it is an impossible task. Instead, I have decided to dedicate myself to my exams preparation when I will go to Brittany in February.

Leave a comment