The Pitfalls of NaNoWrimo: No Editing


A friend of mine posted a link to another blog about the pitfalls of NaNoWriMo on my timeline on Facebook. As much as I appreciate her feedback, somewhat I am not interested in any undermining process.

I am not doing NaNoWriMo just to produce a 50K novel of some sorts, just to say ‘I have done it’. Of course, I will be very happy if I achieve it. The main point is: I have a plan. I have done a lot of thinking and preparation to write this novel. This is my first novel and I must get it out of my system.

It might sound silly but this novel is the touchstone to many other stories and books that I want to write. Nonetheless, until this particular novel is out, I feel that nothing has really started.

My publisher was brilliant and told me that she would publish it after I had pitched it. She was also great in accepting a delay regarding my first draft. I needed the time to cross the Channel and get my life in order first. This is now done and I have run out of excuses and procrastination strategy now.

Of course, I am fully aware that the product of my NaNoWrimo will only be the first draft and that the first draft will need to be seriously reviewed, edited and corrected. However, I need the first draft if I want to move forward.

The time is now and the writing starts on the 1st of November! 😀

Leave a comment